RSS

Life Lessons from My Dad and Reliving Bachelorhood for 58 hours…32 hours left

22 Nov

(There are good life lessons from my Dad at the end of this semi-satirical post)

So I’m a bachelor today (Sunday) and for most of the day tomorrow while my wife, Tracy and our sons are in Arkansas. In case you’re concerned and wondering if I’ll be able to survive I’ll be keeping myself busy in this manner:

Cigar 
Breakfast 
Cigar
Finish cigar review blog post
Cigar
Reading of my favorite “heretical” authors (NT Wright, Rollins, etc)
Cigar
Finish “Rapture” blog post 
Cigar
Clean desk
Cigar 
Organize garage workshop
Cigar
Lunch
Cigar 
Pick up dog poop in yard
Cigar 
Head to Outlaw Cigar for Chiefs game
Cigar
Watch Chiefs game 
Cigar 
Beer
Cigar
Bourbon
Cigar
Dinner of my special-totally-unhealthy kicked up fettuccine Alfredo 
Cigar
Launder clothes that smell like cigar
Cigar 
Find way to get rid of cigar smell in the house
Cigar
Welcome wife and sons home 
Sneak out back for a cigar 

Life Lesson 1) All that is said tongue in cheek because I’m making humor in being able to get some things accomplished but in all seriousness, one of the many things my Dad has taught me is to remember to celebrate the victories in life and business, big or small. We need to be able to recognize the accomplishments we have achieved and keep progressing to be able to do more…not in a workaholic manner, but just in a way to make ourselves better by pushing our normal boundaries and limits. 

Life Lesson 2) I love my Dad so much, and as season ticket holders to KU football we’ve been through the bad years (Terry Allen), the awesome years (Mark Mangino, packed stadium every game, bowl games and winning the Orange Bowl), back to the horrible with Turner Gill and Charlie Weis); we have faith in Beaty but don’t believe he’ll stick around very long after he gets the program turned around. Along with celebrating my victories, he also taught me how we always stay for the entire game to show respect for the college players no matter how hot, wet (KU vs Northwestern deluge 2003), or cold it is at all the sporting events we go to including: KU football, KU basketball (as an 11 year old and each year after my Dad would take me to Late Night at KU just to watch KU practice and that was when the practice actually started at midnight and I loved doing it). The same holds true with KC Royals, and KC Chiefs games, but we have no problem booing them because they’re paid well and it’s their job, but thankfully things have been pretty good recently (past 7 years alone) with our teams:

  • KU Football: Orange Bowl (BCS) Champions 2008!
  • KU Basketball: Conference Champions – 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015; Final Fours – 2008 & 2012; National Champions 2008!
  • Kansas City Royals: ALDS Champions – 2014 & 2015; ALCS Champions – 2014 & 2015; World Series Champions 2015!
  • Sporting KC: US Open Cup Champions 2012 & 2015; MLS Cup Champions 2013!
  • ….and then there’s the Chiefs…ummm…in 2010 they won the Division…oh well. 😉

Happy Sunday! Be well!…time for a cigar! 🙂

IMG_1666

My Dad and I at yesterday’s game, KU vs. West Virginia

Game 2 of the ALCS, KC vs. Toronto

Game 2 of the ALCS, KC vs. Toronto

"Popsicles with Grandpa" has always been a Blaylock tradition. I love seeing my sons spend time with my Dad. Dad with Greer.

“Popsicles with Grandpa” has always been a Blaylock tradition. I love seeing my sons spend time with my Dad. Dad with Greer.

My Dad with my youngest son, Henry

My Dad with my youngest son, Henry

IMG_4426

Royals game vs. San Francisco with my Dad and my Son, 2014

IMG_0467

KU football game vs…can’t remember, 2014

FullSizeRender

Campanile on The Hill at KU, taken yesterday at KU/West Virginia

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 22, 2015 in community, culture, sports

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment